Defining In-State Status
Residency status is determined by the location of your permanent residence — or your parent/guardian's residence if you are a dependent student. If you establish a permanent residence outside Maryland while attending UB, you will lose your in-state status and will be charged for out-of-state tuition and fees beginning the next semester.
General criteria for in-state status
For the 12 consecutive months before the first day of classes for which you wish to be considered a resident, you (or your parent/guardian) must:
- have resided in Maryland (you must be able to show proof of residence, including the amount you pay and the terms of your lease/deed)
- maintain substantially all personal property within Maryland
- pay Maryland income tax on all taxable income earned inside or outside the state
- receive no public assistance from a city, county or municipal agency other than in Maryland
- have a legal ability under federal and Maryland law to reside permanently without interruption in Maryland
- have registered to vote in Maryland, if you had been registered in any other jurisdiction
- license/register all motor vehicles you own in Maryland
- obtain a valid Maryland driver's license
Other students who qualify for in-state status
- full-time or part-time (at least 50 percent time) permanent employees of the University System of Maryland, the employee's spouse or dependent child
- full-time active members of the Armed Forces of the United States whose home of residency is in Maryland or are stationed in Maryland, or the member's spouse or dependent child
- a veteran of the United States Armed Forces who received an honorable discharge within the past 12 months and received his/her high school education in Maryland
- graduate assistants
Non-resident exemption for Maryland high school graduates
Non-resident University applicants who have graduated from a Maryland high school and completed 60 credits or an Associate's degree at a Maryland Community College may be eligible for a non-resident tuition fee exemption under legislation passed by the Maryland General Assembly (the Dream Act). The Non-Resident Tuition Fee Differential Exemption Request
should be submitted with the appropriate documentation after a student has been admitted to the University.
Read the complete policy on student classification at the University System of Maryland website.