Skip to content

Heather Pfeifer, Associate Professor in UB's School of Criminal Justice, Receives President's Faculty Award

May 2, 2014
Contact: University Relations
Phone: 410.837.5739

Heather Pfeifer, associate professor in the University of Baltimore’'s School of Criminal Justice and director of the M.S. in Criminal Justice program, is the recipient of the 2014 President's Faculty Award. The award is given each year to a UB faculty member who has made significant contributions to the University and its educational mission. The award winner's record of accomplishments is required to include a record of excellence in teaching; research; scholarly and creative activity; and service.

Pfeifer was nominated by Debra L. Stanley, professor and executive director of the School of Criminal Justice.

"Dr. Pfeifer represents the qualities and characteristics that this award was intended to honor," Stanley wrote in her nominating letter to UB President Robert Bogomolny. "She is a well-rounded and versatile academic who excels in all areas. She is a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the University of Baltimore and its educational mission through her exemplary and productive professional work and commitment and dedication to quality education."

Stephen L. Percy, dean of the College of Public Affairs (in which the School of Criminal Justice resides), added: "Dr. Pfeifer has been a strong an effective leader in her School of Criminal Justice, the College of Public Affairs, and the University of Baltimore. She has made very important contributions at all levels. Within her School, Dr. Pfeifer has been an effective program director of the M.S. in Criminal Justice. Her leadership is manifest in a major program overhaul, being implemented this year, to transform the criminal justice master’s program into an academic program that explores and educates not only in criminal justice, but also in leadership and effective practice in the field."

The $5,000 award was established and personally funded by Pres. Bogomolny in 2004 to celebrate and support the outstanding accomplishments of UB faculty. All full-time faculty members with five or more years of service completed at UB by the date of the award are eligible. The selection committee considers accomplishments achieved during the five years immediately preceding the award announcement.

Pfeifer's award will be presented at a dedicated luncheon during fall Convocation week.

Learn more about Prof. Pfeifer and UB's School of Criminal Justice.

The University of Baltimore is a member of the University System of Maryland and comprises the School of Law, the Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Public Affairs and the Merrick School of Business.


Last Published 6/9/16