Skip to content
Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences

Student Awards

Rewarding excellence, supporting scholarship.

Beatrice Kanigel Prize for Language and Literature

The Beatrice Kanigel Prize for Language and Literature in the Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences is made possible by Robert Kanigel, a local author and former writer in residence in the Klein Family School of Communications Design. The award is in memory of his mother.

Beatrice Kanigel, born Beatrice Wolshine in 1921, grew up in Brooklyn, and attended Brooklyn College, where she earned a B.A. in English in 1941. She loved Keats, Shelley, Tennyson and the other English romantic poets, and Thomas Mann and Jane Austen among other writers. She exulted in Broadway’s golden age of Cole Porter, Lerner and Loewe, and Rodgers and Hammerstein. For many years in Brooklyn, she was active in Hadassah, a Jewish woman’s organization, for whose staged musical productions she wrote new lyrics to Broadway show tunes, and had a fine old time putting them on.  She could recite Shakespearean sonnets from memory, and wrote occasional sonnets herself, as well as several published essays about her Brooklyn childhood. She read voluminously all her life, high-brow and low, from archaeology and the middle ages to Gore Vidal and Rex Stout, and inspired her three children, two of whom became writers or journalists.

  • To be eligible for this award, you must be a full- or part-time undergraduate or graduate student in the Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences (YGCAS).
  • The student's suitability for this prize will be gauged by his or her writing -- in any genre, creative, journalistic, or critical/scholarly -- or achievement in the theatrical arts.
  • Faculty across YGCAS can nominate up to two students per year.
  • Students who are nominated will be required to submit a writing or media sample of their choosing.
  • The selection committee will review nominated students' work and identify one award winner per year ($300) and up to two honorable mentions ($25 each).
  • Nominations must be made by April 1, and award decisions will be made at the end of the academic year. The award will be presented at the YGCAS annual merit award ceremony and will consist of three parts: the monetary award, a commemorative certificate or plaque, and a statement from the committee explaining why the student was selected.


Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Scholarship Fellows

Through this fellowship program, students have the opportunity to participate in scholarship (research or a creative activity) in partnership with faculty mentors, allowing Fellows to gain valuable learning experiences through participation in the major phases of research and creative activity projects.

  • To qualify, you must have earned at least 60 credit hours and at least a 3.0 grade point average in your major prior to the summer semester.
  • If selected, you'll work a minimum of 25 hours per week for eight weeks during the summer, assisting faculty on research or creative projects.
  • Collaborative teams of students and faculty will present their projects at local, regional, national academic conferences or publish the results in a professional journal.
  • Students from all disciplines are invited to submit an application, which must be endorsed by your faculty mentor. A faculty committee reviews the proposals and recommends awards to the dean.