Skip to content
Main Content

The University of Baltimore Council on Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity (Research Council) is a committee of the University Faculty Senate. Its mission is to support and enhance UB's institutional capacity to undertake research, scholarly and creative activity. The committee does this by making recommendations, via the University Faculty Senate to UB administration on all matters pertaining to research, scholarly and creative activity to support the University’s mission. These recommendations are intended to foster a more productive research environment on campus.

Please contact the chair or other members of the council if you have an issue, concern, or potential initiate that you would like to bring to the council’s attention.

  • Research Council Charge

    The Research Council is charged to:

    a. Review and recommend policies with respect to the operation of research, scholarship and creative activity at UB.

    b. Review and recommend policies with regard to administration of sponsored research at UB.

    c. Promote policies and programs that promote a quality research climate and environment.

    d. Serve as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration

    e. Provide voice to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.

    f. Carry out periodic reviews of UB centers and institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University.

    g. Receive reports from UB administration and research committees, including issues of University compliance with federal and state regulations.

    h. Serve as a forum to discuss administrative charges or mechanisms in areas associated with research, scholarship, and creative activity on campus.

    i. Provide a venue to address unforeseen issues that may have an impact on research, scholarship and creative activity on campus.

    j. Serve as a campus-wide arena to explore future issues, priorities, and directions in the area of research, scholarship and creative activity.

    k. Report to the University Faculty Senate semi-annually or as requested.

  • Meetings

    Meeting Schedule
    Fall 17 Academic Year

    Tuesday – September 5                     1:00pm            LAP 112         

    Tuesday – October 17                        1:00pm            LAP 112

    Wednesday – November 15               1:00pm            LAP *405*

    Tuesday – December 12                    1:00pm            LAP 112


    Contact the chair or other members of the council if you have an issue, concern, or potential initiative that you would like to bring to the council's attention.

  • Members

    Ann Cotten, Chair, Director, Schaefer Center for Public Policy
    acotten@ubalt.edu

    David Bobart, Chief Information Officer 
    dbobart@ubalt.edu

    Magui Cardona, Assistant Provost, Provost Office
    mcardona@ubalt.edu

    Richard Clinch, Director, Jacob France Institute
    rclinch@ubalt.edu

    Joshua Davis, Assistant Professor, Legal, Ethical, and Historical Studies
    jdavis@ubalt.edu

    Sally Farley, Associate Professor, Applied and Behavioral Sciences
    sfarley@ubalt.edu

    Roger Hartley, Dean, College of Public Affairs
    rhartley@ubalt.edu

    Jeffrey Hutson, Associate Director, Langsdale Library
    jhutson@ubalt.edu

    Yu Kang, Assistant Professor, School of Health and Human Services
    ykang@ubalt.edu

    Robert Lande, Professor of Law, School of Law
    rlande@ubalt.edu

    Jennica Larrison, Assistant Professor, School of Public and International Affairs
    jlarrison@ubalt.edu

    Seyed Mohammadi, Associate Director, University Budget Office
    smohammadi2@ubalt.edu

    Bansi Sawhney, Professor, Finance and Economics
    bsawhney@ubalt.edu

    Michael Shochet, Head of Reference, Langsdale Library
    mschochet@ubalt.edu

    Kelechi Uzochukwu, Assistant Professor, College of Public Affairs
    kuzochukwu@ubalt.edu

    Kimberly Wehle, Professor of Law, School of Law
    kwehle@ubalt.edu

    Nafeesa Yunus, Associate Professor, Finance and Economics
    nyunus@ubalt.edu

Last Published 9/6/17