Third Athletic Hall of Fame to Induct 11 Star Athletes, Two Coaches From Six Sports

Inductees Include Legendary Sportswriter John Steadman

April 21, 2006
Contact: Alumni Relations,
Phone: 410.837.6131

The third University of Baltimore Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony will honor nearly a dozen top athletes from baseball, basketball, golf, lacrosse, soccer, and wrestling, two lacrosse coaches and iconic sportswriter John Steadman. The event will be held on Friday, May 5, beginning at 5:30 p.m. with a reception and tour of the newly christened Athletic Hall of Fame facility in the UB Student Center, located at the corner of Mt. Royal and Maryland avenues. Following that, a dinner and formal induction ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. at the nearby Belvedere Hotel, 1 E. Chase St. (tickets and registration information below)

Though competitive sanctioned athletics are no longer a part of the UB student experience—the rising costs of supporting teams forced the institution to abandon sports in 1983—the UB community is well aware of its esteemed legacy in this arena. Home to more than 150 All-American athletes during its 50-plus years of competitive collegiate sports, UB won numerous Mason-Dixon team championships in baseball, basketball, golf, lacrosse, soccer and wrestling.

UB President Robert L. Bogomolny, an early supporter in the drive to create a UB Athletic Hall of Fame, said this year's induction ceremony is special because it is the first in which an actual Hall of Fame is part of the experience.

"We are pleased to have this opportunity to honor UB’s legacy in athletics," Bogomolny said. "This year, the hall goes from aspiration to reality with a dedicated space in the student center. The University of Baltimore now has a place to celebrate our alumni’s sports achievements, and we look forward to welcoming more inductees in the coming years."

The Athletic Hall of Fame began after an extended dialogue with alumni leaders, students and local sports aficionados, who worked with the UB leadership to appropriately acknowledge the long history of sports at UB. In the past two years, well over two dozen athletes and coaches have entered the hall.

Selected by an executive board of former UB student-athletes and coaches, the 2006 class of the UB Athletic Hall of Fame features 11 former student-athletes and two coaches, all of whom were outstanding in their chosen sport. Steadman is receiving special recognition as an "outstanding contributor" for his coverage of men's basketball and baseball teams for The Sun, the Evening Sun and the News American.

More than 40 years of UB history will be covered by this class, which will include members of some of the University's most successful teams from the 1930s, 1950s, 1960s and 1980s.

The 2006 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are:


Bob Cimino*, B.S. '62
Wayne Sharrer, B.S. '68


Roger "Pip" Moyer, B.S. '60
Vic "Buddy" Probst*, L.L.B. '36


Bill Klages, B.S. '61


Stuart M. Harrison, B.S. '63
Richard Marcy Price, B.S. '64

Pete Caringi, B.A. '80
George F. Politz, B.S.  '61


Dick Kohlhafer, B.S. '60
Robert R. "Bob" Staab, B.S. '61


Jim McDonald – lacrosse (1956-63)
Bill Pacy – lacrosse (1953-59)

Gerry Sandusky, the Emmy and Edward R. Murrow award-winning sports director for WBAL-TV in Baltimore, will emcee the event again this year.

Shuttles will be available to take guests to visit the Athletic Hall of Fame display in the new UB Student Center during the cocktail reception at the Belvedere. Guests will then be taken back to the hotel for the dinner and induction ceremony.

Tickets are $75 per person and can be purchased in individual, half (five tickets) or full tables (10 tickets). R.S.V.P. by calling 410.837.6131 or e-mailing the Office of Alumni Relations at

The University of Baltimore is a member of the University System of Maryland and comprises the School of Law, the Yale Gordon College of Liberal Arts and the Merrick School of Business.